The Positives Of Not Drinking ? (1 Viewer)

bringbackrattles

Bumped into an old workmate recently and got a shock when he said he hasn't had a drink for seven years,as he was in the pub almost daily when I knew him.Told him I still drink at weekends and the odd night now and then during the week,but he said he didn't miss it at all.He told me to give it a try myself which got me thinking has anyone on here done the same as him and knocked it on the head ?

Grendel

Yep it's a lot better. You feel much healthier. After averaging 150 units a week as a student I pretty much - other than the odd night - gave it up for 20 years.

Now I'm drinking again and guess what - I put weight on, can't sleep, feel lethargic.

Otis

I haven't had a drink for 20 years. Don't miss it one little bit.

Sent from my LG-D405 using Tapatalk

Covrock

Not had a drop for 4years 8 months. If I'd carried On the way I used to drink I would be dead. I can't do moderation so I gave up.

stupot07

I tend to only drink at the weekends, other than my student days I've never been a big drinker but I don't think I'd like to give up altogether.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - so please excuse any spelling or grammar errors :)

Otis

Sad basket case aren't I. Don't drink, don't do drugs, don't go out, don't do holidays, follow the City and am a vegetarian.

Sent from my LG-D405 using Tapatalk

bringbackrattles

I reckon something spooky is going on as just a couple of days ago got talking to a bloke who has also stopped drinking,he's gone ten years without even a shandy.If I meet one more teetotaller in the next week or so it must be a sign for me also to call last orders !

johnwillomagic

oh dear don't give it up mate......just as long as you do not constantly abuse it I think it's fine!!

I need a few pints during week and at weekend to get through/over my working week!
Mind you as docs regard three pints I think as a binge in one day I still maybe overdo it!!