Auditors query Coventry City FC as a going concern (1 Viewer)

SkyBlueCharlie

Apologies if this has already been posted (article is six days old), but just received an email from ACCA (I'm an accountant) and one of the main headlines was this link. Sad to see that we're being used as an accountancy case study, but at least a few more people will now be aware of our plight I guess.

http://www.accountancyage.com/aa/news/2398461/auditors-query-coventry-city-fc-as-a-going-concern

The final paragraph in the report is quite interesting and/or confusing.

"However, greatly improved terms at the Ricoh Arena offer an improved outlook for the current financial year. The current short-term deal includes £100,000 annual rent, access to half of food and drink revenue, and a portion of parking fees on matchdays."

I was under the impression that one of the main areas of contention was that the club had NO access to either food and beverages or match-day parking under the current arrangement.

CJ_covblaze

The final paragraph in the report is quite interesting and/or confusing.

"However, greatly improved terms at the Ricoh Arena offer an improved outlook for the current financial year. The current short-term deal includes £100,000 annual rent, access to half of food and drink revenue, and a portion of parking fees on matchdays."

I was under the impression that one of the main areas of contention was that the club had NO access to either food and beverages or match-day parking under the current arrangement.

I'm sure it was stated by both sides at some point that the club gets a split of the F&B. IIRC the club got 900 car parking spaces as part of the pre Sixfields deal.

lewys33

I wish we knew the exact terms on the deal for the Ricoh. Do we take that article as fact? If that is true then I can't see how we could get much better than that even with a new stadium (we would rent the new one anyway).

robbiethemole