Home Record: We Get What We Deserve (1 Viewer)

Nonleagueherewecome

One of the major reasons why our poor form is so much worse than the away form is due to the utterly terrible support offered at home. I don't mean the low gates-I mean those fans who go to matches seemingly with the sole purpose of booing the players and getting on their backs.

If I was an away manager, I'd set the team up to defend and hit us on the counter-attack. My team-talk would be "all we need to do is keep it at 0-0 and their fans will get on their backs. They think they're billy big-bollocks and too good for this division and they'll take their frustration out on their players. Their fans are our 12th man. If we can sneak a goal, their fans will slaughter them for everything they try to do and it will make our jobs much easier".

If you were doing your job, would you respond positively to someone standing by and hurling abuse at you? Or would you benefit more from their enthusiastic encouragement? If you needed to show guts and determination, would you be more likely to do so with someone telling you to get stuck in, or someone screaming that you are a lazy disgrace?

I think I was virtually the only person in B21 who was cheering on Baker as he twice ran through a brick wall to close his man down, then again to keep the ball in play-leading to our first goal. Many of our fans had given up and were too busy indulging in their rage. What happened to "Fight 'Till the Game is Won?" Sure it's frustrating, but we'd played some of our best football for ages up until the Colchester goal; then heads understandably dropped after we'd dominated, the fans turned and started with their heckles, and confidence visibly drained from the players.

Why can't we all be a bit more like the fans who go away every week and actually support our players? There are a lot of CCFC "supporters" who actually go up there wanting certain players to fail!