£100-120m (1 Viewer)

fernandopartridge

Wasps reckon they're going to invest the above in "hotel and retail" in Cov. Car Park C mentioned. Armstrong sees ACL as a property developer with a rugby club pinned on.
Also reckon they're the 3rd largest employer in Cov (which I am sure is utter rubbish); Council, 2 universities, Jag, UHCW, Severn Trent are all far bigger along with others. I don't think having lots of staff registered on zero hours contracts with Compass counts in the same way.

Nick

Administrator
I'm sure they were asked about:

But despite his business success he has maintained a low profile, leading to rumours over his motives for the Ricoh takeover.

Some have suggested he is more interested in the land around the Ricoh than the stadium, but he dismissed that.

He said: "I’m not a property developer, I’ve never developed anything in my life.

"I’ve never thought of this as something I might make profit from.

oldskyblue58

CCFC Finance Director
must admit I was surprised at the 3rd largest employer claim, as fp lists there would seem to be more with quite a few other employers. Isn't it Compass that employ the staff in any case?

That aside if this development happens then I would think it further marginalises the need for CCFC to be there to make the stadium succeed and reduces the impact on the Ricoh of CCFC moving elsewhere. Further weakening the negotiating hand SISU or any new owners have to play if they wanted to stay at the arena. It may allow Wasps to offer CCFC all the match day income (probably less a commission) but I would think CCFC get the full match day costs and a full rent if that happens

To me it makes sense for the stadium to develop other income streams that marry with all of the events etc that are going on, and to reduce the reliance on major sport (Football or Rugby)